Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Delayed Penalty by Sophia Henry Blog Tour #5star #Review @Tastybooktours @sophiahenry313


Enter to Win a 
Select Loveswept Ebook Bundle



DELAYED PENALTY
Pilots Hockey #1
Sophia Henry
Releasing Sept 1st, 2015


She closed her heart long ago. He just wants to open her mind. For fans of Toni Aleo and Sawyer Bennett, the debut of Sophia Henry’s red-hot Detroit Pilots series introduces a hockey team full of complicated men who fight for love.

Auden Berezin is used to losing people: her father, her mother, her first love. Now, just when she believes those childhood wounds are finally healing, she loses something else: the soccer scholarship that was her ticket to college. Scrambling to earn tuition money, she’s relieved to find a gig translating for a Russian minor-league hockey player—until she realizes that he’s the same dangerously sexy jerk who propositioned her at the bar the night before.

Equal parts muscle and scar tissue,
Aleksandr Varenkov knows about trauma. Maybe that’s what draws him to Auden. He also lost his family too young, and he channeled the pain into his passions: first hockey, then vodka and women. But all that seems to just melt away the instant he kisses Auden and feels a jolt of desire as sudden and surprising as a hard check on the ice.

After everything she’s been through,
Auden can’t bring herself to trust any man, let alone a hot-headed puck jockey with a bad reputation. Aleksandr just hopes she’ll give him a chance—long enough to prove he’s finally met the one who makes him want to change.




It's hard for me to not like sport romances. This book is just another example of why. Aleksandr is just the kind of cocky alpha I expect in this genre. He comes across as a douche (Auden's nickname for him, not mine) many times. Auden makes him want to be a better man. 

I had a little trouble with the Russian portions of the story. That's on me, not the author. I'm not very familiar with any Russian traditions or customs and it took a little to understand the importance of some of the events. I really enjoyed reading about seeing so many different aspects to Russian culture blended into the book. The author knows the culture well, did a lot of research, or is great at making up stuff well enough to make it believable. 

Both Aleksandr and Auden have broken pasts which they need to deal with in order to move on. I love reading about characters that help each other heal.  Aleksandr is so understanding towards Auden. She hasn't dealt with her past and needs more time to deal with everything. 





Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo





Sophia Henry, a proud Detroit native, fell in love with reading, writing, and hockey all before she became a teenager. She did not, however, fall in love with snow. So after graduating with an English degree from Central Michigan University, she moved to North Carolina, where she spends her time writing books featuring hockey-playing heroes, chasing her two high-energy sons, watching her beloved Detroit Red Wings, and rocking out at concerts with her husband.



2 comments:

  1. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing DELAYED PENALTY! I truly appreciate the opportunity to be featured on your blog! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for hosting DELAYED PENALTY

    ReplyDelete